book review: “little bee”

My favorite books are the ones I can’t seem to put down.  The ones I sneak in to work with me so I can read on my lunch break.  The ones that make me stay up way too late because I can’t wait until morning to find out what happens next.  Little Bee is one of those books.  I bought it at Half Price Books on Tuesday afternoon and finished it Thursday afternoon.  Addicting.  Seriously.

Little Bee is a book about two women from two very different worlds: a suburb of London and the beaches of Nigeria.  When their worlds collide, neither woman leaves the encounter unaffected.  This book is the story of their second meeting and the events that follow.  I would tell you more about the plot, but here’s the thing…  I can’t.  Because if I did, Little Bee just wouldn’t be quite as good.  Its page-turner quality is in the suspense.  This book kept me guessing from start to finish; the story’s surprises just never seem to end.  That’s what makes Little Bee a great read: the “oh, I need to find out what happens next!” feeling as you turn the pages.

Overall, I would recommend Little Bee.  As long as you don’t plan on using it as a “bedtime reader.”  Just trust me and don’t do it.  For one, you won’t sleep because you won’t be able to put it down.  And two, well, it’s not exactly a lighthearted frolicking-in-the-fields kind of read.

So go read this book.  And then let me know if you find it as surprising and well-written as I did.

Leave a Reply

